Faith in the Fire

After the fire…

The older I get the more I realize life is hard.  Some days, more than others, it’s clear we live in a broken world.  Today is one of those days.

On my mind today are friends facing hard times.

One friend is in the hospital in the fight of her life against the evil that is cancer.  God has used her voice on countless occasions to minister to my heart in the sweetest of ways.  And as she waits for her miracle; she sings.  She sings because she has faith.

Another loved one counts the days until she has yet another MRI to monitor brain cancer.  And as she waits for her miracle; she spends each day encouraging everyone around her.  I wake up every morning to an encouraging text from her with a word of the day (today’s word is “considerate” by the way).  She’s busy encouraging us because she has faith that her heavenly father has his hand in this.

More friends, who I count as family, are picking up the pieces after losing their house and all their worldly possessions in a fire last week.  And as they wait for their miracle; they praise God and thank him for keeping their eight kids safe.  They share their faith and their family mission, to seek justice for kids in the foster care system, with their insurance adjustor.  They have faith despite the fire.

I’ve been deeply discouraged lately by things that ultimately are trivial in the grand scheme of things.  Today I am reminded that we are called to have faith in the fire.  To have hope on the days that seem hopeless.  When life turns up the heat we are to turn up the praise and remain focused on the one we serve.

I’m thankful for these friends and family and their witness in my life.  Though it grieves my soul to see them walk through these uncertain times, it is clear that God truly uses all things for the good of his people.  So I’m choosing to be encouraged.  I’m choosing faith in the fire.

Please join me in praying for Mardy, Beth, Steve, Janelle, Andrea, Makayla, Marissa, Katie, Brookelyn, Ky, Gabe, and Matthew.  They’re all keeping the faith….and so should we.

If you’d like to get in on the action of loving on these folks send me a message and I’ll let you know how you can help.

Here’s to changing the world…together

Harmony

2 thoughts on “Faith in the Fire

Leave a Reply

