Thanksgiving Leftovers…A Thoughtful Recap

 

After a whirlwind weekend and a few hundred miles clocked in the SUV I find myself feeling a bit reflective about this year’s Thanksgiving festivities.

We had the luxury of celebrating the Thanksgiving holiday three different times over the past week.  There was an abundance of food, family, friends, and community.  Though there are no literal “leftovers” taking up space in my fridge, I find my heart and head filled with a number of “leftover thoughts”.

So here is my take away –

God is good.  And that’s an understatement.  He is faithful and his timing is perfect (why do I ever worry about anything?  It’s just silly!)

I am blessed.  I have a husband who loves God and loves me (in that order; as it should be), a son who is destined for greatness, family and friends who know me and love me anyway, and a calling on my life to do something that matters with people who I respect immensely (much love to my Key Ministry team), and a story that God is constantly redeeming and shaping.

I have much to do.  “To whom much is given – much is required” – and I have been given much.  I don’t deserve this incredible life, but I am deeply thankful.  So while I’m here I want to do everything I can to make the world a better place.  I pray I make every single moment count.

And that, my friends, is better than any leftover turkey sandwich.

So happy belated Thanksgiving from our family to yours!

Leave a Reply

