I want you to be disturbed…

As I begin this blogging adventure I have many hopes of what my blog will do.  I hope it makes you laugh, encourages, equips, challenges, inspires, motivates, and…..disturbs you.  Yes, at times I think God wants to disturb us.  So as he messes with me, I shall – in turn, share that holy discontent with you.

And so today it is Wednesday and I find myself…disturbed.  It’s January 11th – National Human Trafficking Awareness Day.  My sister in law, Jillian, serves with an awesome ministry called Rahab’s Rope and they have asked their ministry supporters to blog, facebook, and dialogue about this issue to increase awareness, and ultimately end slavery.  So of course – I’m in.

Today’s post may be a bit long.  So bear with me.  (or don’t – it’s your call)

As I prayed about what I could do to raise awareness I found myself almost paralyzed.  What can I really do?  Ultimately I believe God has equipped me (and YOU) to be a voice for the voiceless.  So I’ll use my voice (at the very least).

This past summer I had a chance to speak to students at a youth conference and I talked about “legacy”.  I did a study on the word and found that it’s origins in the late 14th century meant “body of persons sent on a mission”.  Today it is often defined as “something handed down or received from an ancestor or predecessor”.

I want my legacy to be a legacy that speaks of the Kingdom.  That my children, and their children, and their children would live in a world where heaven continues to invade the dark places and bring light to those in absolute darkness.   I want their ancestry to be that of freedom fighters and grace givers.

In Luke 4:18-19 Jesus says “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to preach good news to the poor.  He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to release the oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”  I can’t imagine the feeling in the room as Jesus spoke these words, fulfilling mountains of prophecy.  It gives me chills.  But you know what really messes with me?  Wrecks me to my core and wakes me up in the middle of the night?

Jesus goes on in John 14:12-14 and says “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing.  He will do even greater things than these because I am going to the Father.  And I will do whatever you ask in my name; so that the Son may bring glory to the Father.  You may ask me for anything in my name and I will do it.”

What?  Are you freaking kidding me?  You should be ready to throw your computer thinking about the possibilities?  Let’s get this straight – I (Harmony “the not so extraordinary” Hensley) will do even greater things?  I could release the oppressed?  Incredible.  Heck yes!  Sign me up!

So as I think about human trafficking here is how God is wrecking me today.  This is an issue of social justice and kingdom inclusion for me.  Track with me here – people rescued from human trafficking and modern slavery are going to come away with not only physical scars; but wounds to their hearts and souls that are deep and excruciating.  They will face PTSD and other mental health issues that you and I cannot begin to imagine.  So what do we do about that as a “C” church?  Lots of things – but it begins with prayer, and understanding.  We have an obligation to become abolitionists and advocates.  We need to educate ourselves on mental health issues and how we can love, serve, equip, empower and unleash these people into true freedom in Christ.  Inclusion ministry doesn’t only address physical disabilities, but hidden disabilities as well such PTSD and a host of other mental health issues.

So today I challenge all of us (myself included) to get more involved in the freedom fighting.  Connect with some modern day abolitionists and see how you can seek justice.  Some fabulous organizations are Rahab’s Rope, International Justice Mission (IJM), A21, Destiny’s Rescue, and countless others.  They offer a number of ways to get involved ranging from shopping for a cause, to advocacy and mission trips.

If you would like to equip yourself and your church to better serve people impacted by hidden disabilities such as issues of mental health please contact our team at Key Ministry for FREE resources and training.

But whatever you do – do something.  Let this disturb you enough to get involved.

We want to do “even greater things” Jesus – teach us how to walk boldly in your legacy.

To learn more about human trafficking you can also visit the following:

www.humantraffickingsearch.net

To read more about human trafficking in Cincinnati check out this blog

(yes – right here in our own back yard):

http://freedomcenter.org/freedom-forum/index.php/2009/07/study-human-trafficking-cincinnati/

To read more about PTSD and the effects of Sexual Abuse in Children visit:

http://www.aacap.org/cs/root/facts_for_families/posttraumatic_stress_disorder_ptsd

 

One thought on “I want you to be disturbed…

Leave a Reply

