It’s been one of “those days”

Do you ever have one of “those days”?  You know the ones where nothing seems to go right and you find yourself worn out, frustrated, discouraged, and defeated.  I hate those days.  Hate them.  And today?  Today was one of those days.

So on days like these I try to give myself an “attitude adjustment” and a healthy dose of perspective.  The gospels are generally a good place to start.  Even on my worst day I’m not being persecuted, tortured, imprisoned, or crucified.  So that’s a huge win.  (and no, I do not take that lightly)

Then I make it a point to change my vantage point.  By that I mean I take a good hard look at those around me; those I know, those I love, and  those I have only heard about.  People all around me (and probably all around you) are hurting.  I know (and love) people who have lost loved ones recently, who have a life threatening illness they are battling, some who are clinically depressed, others in financial distress, unemployed, underemployed, lonely, lost, and scared.  And me?  I’m just frustrated.  Largely, because today I was hyper focused on me.  And you know what?  That is NEVER a good thing.  I was wrapped up in a big project dear to my heart that I’ve been laboring on for nearly three years, add to that, every time I glanced out the window my eyes fixated on the “for sale” sign in the yard that has been there for nearly a year and a half.

I hate it when I’m like this but the good news is that God’s mercies are new each day.  And tomorrow?  Tomorrow is a new day.

Here’s to a brighter outlook, a better perspective, and a thankful heart.

Be encouraged friends – some days we lose the battle, but thank God we’ve already won the war.

Chin up…..brush it off….and let’s change the world.

One thought on “It’s been one of “those days”

  1. Happens to the best of them…came across this somewhere (Maybe 2 Corinthians 1:6-11?):

    When we suffer for Jesus, it works out for your healing and salvation. If we are treated well, given a helping hand and encouraging word, that also works to your benefit, spurring you on, face forward, unflinching. Your hard times are also our hard times. When we see that you’re just as willing to endure the hard times as to enjoy the good times, we know you’re going to make it, no doubt about it.

    We don’t want you in the dark, friends, about how hard it was when all this came down on us in Asia province. It was so bad we didn’t think we were going to make it. We felt like we’d been sent to death row, that it was all over for us. As it turned out, it was the best thing that could have happened. Instead of trusting in our own strength or wits to get out of it, we were forced to trust God totally—not a bad idea since he’s the God who raises the dead! And he did it, rescued us from certain doom. And he’ll do it again, rescuing us as many times as we need rescuing. You and your prayers are part of the rescue operation—I don’t want you in the dark about that either. I can see your faces even now, lifted in praise for God’s deliverance of us, a rescue in which your prayers played such a crucial part.

Leave a Reply

